I have well over 400 book reviews archived on the following pages. If you scroll through, they are in order of when I posted the reviews. Please use the drop-down menus above for easier searching.

Know that this section is under constant construction. With this many reviews over a 12-year period, there are lots of variations in what I’ve included in the reviews, and many still need to be tagged for age, genre, and topic.

This is a Librarian's Perspective Review of Bull by David Elliott.
Bull : A Librarian’s Perspective Review

Bull is not your typical mythology novel for teens. It’s nothing like the Percy Jackson series, and I don’t recommend it for most middle school readers. Some readers will find

This is a Librarian's Perspective Review of Caraval by Stephanie Garber.
Caraval : A Librarian’s Perspective Review

Caraval is a weird, twisty, wicked-fun must-read. Watch for Caraval by Stephanie Garber on award lists–it’s a page-turning, action-packed adventure for upper middle school and high school readers! AUTHOR: Stephanie

This is a Librarian's Perspective Review of One by Sarah Crossan.
One : A Librarian’s Perspective Review

Though I found One by Sarah Crossan a tad predictable, I thoroughly enjoyed this unique story of 16-year old conjoined twin sisters. When I booktalked this with my students, they

This is a Librarian's Perspective Review of Zac & Mia by AJ Betts.
Review: Zac & Mia (Betts)

I’ve wanted to read Zac & Mia for quite awhile now! The author, A.J. Betts, came to our school last March and went down like a storm. She was interesting,

Review: Squish: Super Amoeba (Holm, Holm)

AUTHOR: Jennifer Holm ILLUSTRATOR: Matthew Holm SERIES: Squish, book 1 PUBLISHER: Random House PUBLICATION DATE: May 10, 2011 ISBN: 9780375843891 PAGES: 96 SOURCE: my library GENRE: graphic novel, humor SETTING:

This is a Librarian's Perspective Review of Starflight by Melissa Landers.
Starflight : A Librarian’s Perspective Review

Starflight is Overboard meets Pirates of the Caribbean meets Guardians of the Galaxy. This action-packed space opera seriously has everything! AUTHOR: Melissa Landers SERIES: Starflight, book 1 PUBLISHER: Disney-Hyperion PUBLICATION

Review: This One Summer (Tamaki, Tamaki)

AUTHOR: Mariko Tamaki, Jillian Tamaki SERIES: none PUBLISHER: First Second PUBLICATION DATE: May 6, 2014 ISBN: 9781626720947 PAGES: 320 SOURCE: my library GENRE: graphic novel; realistic/contemporary SETTING: Awago Beach, summertime

Review: Sunny Side Up (Holm, Holm)

AUTHOR: Jennifer Holm ILLUSTRATOR: Matthew Holm SERIES: none PUBLISHER: GRAPHIX PUBLICATION DATE: August 25, 2015 ISBN: 9780545741651 PAGES: 224 SOURCE: my library GENRE: graphic novel; realistic fiction SETTING: 1976, Florida

Review: American Born Chinese (Yang)

AUTHOR: Gene Luen Yang SERIES: none PUBLISHER: First Second PUBLICATION DATE: September 5, 2006 ISBN: 9781596431522 PAGES: 260 SOURCE: my library GENRE: graphic novel; realistic/spiritual SETTING: modern-day California GIVE IT

Review: Zero Day (Gangsei)

AUTHOR: Jan Gangsei SERIES: none currently listed PUBLISHER: Disney-Hyperion PUBLICATION DATE: January 12, 2016 ISBN: 9781484722268 PAGES: 368 SOURCE: NetGalley GENRE: action, espionage, thriller SETTING: Washington, DC, present day GIVE

Review: The Impostor Queen (Fine)

>AUTHOR: Sarah Fine   SERIES: The Impostor Queen, book 1   PUBLISHER: Margaret K. McElderry   PUBLICATION DATE: January 5, 2016   ISBN: 9781481441902   PAGES: 336   SOURCE: Edelweiss

Review: This Raging Light (Laure)

This Raging Light needs a little more raging and a lot more memorable characters. It’s a fun distraction from real life, but I won’t remember This Raging Light by the

Review: The Golden Braid (Dickerson)

Melanie Dickerson’s version of “Rapunzel” had me asking myself a serious question: Is “Rapunzel” my favorite fairy tale because I’ve always had long hair? Or have I always had long

Review: Hotel Ruby (Young)

My students have been anxiously awaiting Hotel Ruby‘s arrival in my library since I read and told them about it six months ago. Think Stephen King’s The Shining meets The

Review: These Shallow Graves (Donnelly)

Somewhere in the world, pigs must be flying. Maybe there’s a snowball fight happening right now in hell. Because I have smashed my historical fiction reading record this year! I

Review: Illuminae (Kaufman/Kristoff)

“So attractive one day, not attractive the next. Yes, I am familiar with this syndrome. She’s a Two-Face.” –George Costanza, Seinfeld   This is the second book I’ve compared to

Review: Wolf By Wolf (Graudin)

What if the Nazis won WWII? What if in 1956, Hitler were still fuhrer and now in control of a huge, unstoppable European empire? What if concentration camps and ethnic

Review: Sing Down the Stars (Hatton)

I’m starting this review with the disclaimer that steampunk isn’t really my cup of tea. It is a unique genre that has its following, but for me, it’s just too

Review: Everything, Everything (Yoon)

Remember that old John Travolta movie about the boy who lived in the bubble? Or maybe the Seinfeld episode where George plays Trivial Pursuit with the Bubble Boy, and the

Review: Ash & Bramble (Prineas)

Don’t you hate it when you are sure a book is just about to get good–it just has to!–if only you read a few more chapters? If only you can

Review: Dumplin’ (Murphy)

AUTHOR: Julie Murphy SERIES: none PUBLISHER: Balzer+Bray PUBLICATION DATE: September 15, 2015 ISBN: 9780062327185 PAGES: 384 SOURCE: Edelweiss e-ARC GENRE: contemporary/realistic fiction SETTING: small town in south Texas, present day

Review: Until Friday Night (Glines)

AUTHOR: Abbi Glines SERIES: The Field Party, book 1 PUBLISHER: SimonPulse PUBLICATION DATE: August 25, 2015 ISBN: 9781481438865 PAGES: 352 SOURCE: Edelweiss GENRE: contemporary romance SETTING: present-day; Lawton, Tennessee GIVE

Review: Vengeance Road (Bowman)

AUTHOR: Erin Bowman SERIES: none PUBLISHER: HMH Books for Young Readers PUBLICATION DATE: Sept. 1, 2015 ISBN: 9780544466388 PAGES: 336 SOURCE: Edelweiss GENRE: Western SETTING: Arizona Territory, 1800s GIVE IT

Review: Reawakened (Houck)

AUTHOR: Colleen Houck SERIES: Reawakened, book 1 PUBLISHER: Delacorte PUBLICATION DATE: August 25, 2015 ISBN: 9780385376570 PAGES: 400 SOURCE: NetGalley GENRE: fantasy, mythology, romance SETTING: New York and Cairo, present

Review: The Burning (Skogen)

AUTHOR: Jennifer Skogen SERIES: Haunting of Grey Hills PUBLISHER: EPIC Press PUBLICATION DATE: September 1, 2015 ISBN: 9781680760293 PAGES: 216 SOURCE: SLJ review copy GENRE: horror, hi-lo SETTING: Grey Hills,

Review: Half Bad (Green)

AUTHOR: Sally Green SERIES: Half Bad Trilogy, book 1 PUBLISHER: Viking PUBLICATION DATE: March 4, 2014 ISBN: 9780670016785 PAGES: 394 SOURCE: my library GENRE: Paranormal SETTING: England & Switzerland, modern

Review: The Prisoners of Breendonk (Deem)

AUTHOR: James M. Deem SERIES: none PUBLISHER: HMH Books PUBLICATION DATE: August 4, 2015 ISBN: 9780544096646 PAGES: 352 SOURCE: NetGalley GENRE: narrative nonfiction GIVE IT TO: MS, HS SUMMARY: Belgium,

Review: Chasing McCree (Isabella)

AUTHOR: J.C. Isabella SERIES: Chasing McCree, book 1 PUBLISHER: J.C. Isabella PUBLICATION DATE: April 14, 2012 ISBN: 9780615797236 PAGES: 182 SOURCE: purchased e-book GENRE: romance SETTING: Florida and Montana, present

Review: Geek Girl (Smale)

AUTHOR: Holly Smale SERIES: Geek Girl, book 1 PUBLISHER: HarperCollins PUBLICATION DATE: February 28, 2013 ISBN: 9780007489442 PAGES: 378 SOURCE: purchased e-book GENRE: chick lit SETTING: England, present day GIVE

Review: Nothing Left to Burn (Blount)

Predictable with insta-love and a front cover that appeals to girls (even though the main character is male). It had so much potential that unfortunately falls flat. Skip. AUTHOR: Patty

Review: Last Year’s Mistake (Ciocca)

AUTHOR: Gina Ciocca SERIES: none PUBLISHER: SimonPulse PUBLICATION DATE: June 9, 2015 ISBN: 9781481432238 PAGES: 320 SOURCE: Edelweiss GENRE: contemporary romance SETTING: Connecticut and Rhode Island, 4 years ago and

Review: Jesse’s Girl (Kenneally)

AUTHOR: Miranda Kenneally SERIES: Hundred Oaks PUBLISHER: SourceBooks Fire PUBLICATION DATE: July 1, 2015 ISBN: 9781402284823 PAGES: 287 SOURCE: Edelweiss GENRE: contemporary romance SETTING: Nashville, Tennessee; present day GIVE IT

Review: Every Last Word (Stone)

AUTHOR: Tamara Ireland Stone SERIES: none PUBLISHER:Disney-Hyperion PUBLICATION DATE: June 16, 2015 ISBN: 9781484705278 PAGES: 368 SOURCE: NetGalley GENRE: realistic fiction/contemporary SETTING: present-day GIVE IT TO: MS, HS SUMMARY: Sixteen-year

Review: After Hours (Kennedy)

AUTHOR: Claire Kennedy SERIES: none PUBLISHER: SimonPulse PUBLICATION DATE: June 16, 2015 ISBN: 9781481430166 PAGES: 256 SOURCE: Edelweiss GENRE: realistic/contemporary fiction SETTING: upscale seaside French restaurant and surrounding small town,

Review: School Days Around the World (Ruurs/Feagan)

AUTHOR: Margriet Ruurs ILLUSTRATOR: Alice Feagan SERIES: none PUBLISHER: Kids Can Press PUBLICATION DATE: April 1, 2015 ISBN: 9781771380478 PAGES: 44 SOURCE: NetGalley GENRE: nonfiction; picture book GIVE IT TO:

Review: Kill Me Softly (Cross)

AUTHOR: Sarah Cross SERIES: Beau Rivage, book 1 PUBLISHER: EgmontUSA PUBLICATION DATE: April 10, 2012 ISBN: 9781606843239 PAGES: 336 SOURCE: purchased GENRE: Fairytale retelling SETTING: present, casino/beach town called Beau

Review: The Cage (Shepherd)

AUTHOR: Megan Shepherd SERIES: The Cage, book 1 PUBLISHER: Balzer+Bray PUBLICATION DATE: May 26, 2015 ISBN: 9780062243058 PAGES: 400 SOURCE: Edelweiss GENRE: sci-fi SETTING: inside an “enclosure” in an alien

Review: Chips and Cheese and Nana’s Knees (Cleary)

AUTHOR: Brian Cleary ILLUSTRATOR: Martin Goneau SERIES: Words Are CATegorical PUBLISHER: Millbrook Press PUBLICATION DATE: April 1, 2015 ISBN: 9781467726498 PAGES: 32 SOURCE: NetGalley GENRE: nonfiction; poetry; alliteration GIVE IT

Review: Some Kind of Normal (Stone)

AUTHOR: Juliana Stone SERIES: none PUBLISHER: Sourcebooks Fire PUBLICATION DATE: May 5, 2015 ISBN: 9781402291500 PAGES: 304 SOURCE: SLJ review copy GENRE: contemporary romance; realistic fiction SETTING: present-day, Louisiana GIVE

Review: In a World Just Right (Brooks)

AUTHOR: Jen Brooks SERIES: none PUBLISHER: Simon & Schuster PUBLICATION DATE: April 28, 2015 ISBN: 9781481416603 PAGES: 432 SOURCE: NetGalley GENRE: magical realism; romance SETTING: present-day USA (Boston?) GIVE IT

Review: Miss Mayhem (Hawkins)

AUTHOR: Rachel Hawkins SERIES: Rebel Belle, book 2 PUBLISHER: Putnam Juvenile PUBLICATION DATE: April 7, 2015 ISBN: 9780399256943 PAGES: 288 SOURCE: Edelweiss GENRE: Paranormal, action GIVE IT TO: MS, HS

Review: The Spider (Gravel)

AUTHOR: Elise Gravel ILLUSTRATOR: Elise Gravel SERIES: Disgusting Critters PUBLISHER: Tundra Books PUBLICATION DATE: February 10, 2015 ISBN: 9781770496644 PAGES: 32 SOURCE: NetGalley GENRE: nonfiction; picture book; science GIVE IT

Review: Head Lice (Gravel)

AUTHOR: Elise Gravel ILLUSTRATOR: Elise Gravel SERIES: Disgusting Critters PUBLISHER: Tundra Books PUBLICATION DATE: February 10, 2015 ISBN: 9781770496613 PAGES: 32 SOURCE: NetGalley GENRE: nonfiction; picture book; health/science GIVE IT

Review: Flunked: Fairy Tale Reform School (Calonita)

AUTHOR: Jen Calonita SERIES: none PUBLISHER: Sourcebooks Jabberwocky PUBLICATION DATE: March 3, 2015 ISBN: 9781492601562 PAGES: 256 SOURCE: SLJ review via NetGalley GENRE: retellings, fairy tales SETTING: Enchantasia, a land

Review: Where I Belong (Heasley)

AUTHOR: Gwendolyn Heasley SERIES: , book 1 PUBLISHER: HarperTeen PUBLICATION DATE: February 8, 2011 ISBN: 9780061978845 PAGES: 289 SOURCE: purchased ebook GENRE: realistic, contemporary SETTING: New York City and Broken

Review: Born Confused (Hidier)

AUTHOR: Tanuja Desai Hidier SERIES: Born Confused, book 1 PUBLISHER: Scholastic Point PUBLICATION DATE: March 19, 2004 PAGES: 512 SOURCE: my library GENRE: contemporary romance SETTING: New Jersey and New

Review: My Not So Super Sweet Life (Harris)

AUTHOR: Rachel Harris SERIES: My Super Sweet Sixteenth Century, book 3 PUBLISHER: Entangled Teen PUBLICATION DATE: April 21, 2014 ISBN: 9781622664825 PAGES: 190 SOURCE: purchased ebook GENRE: contemporary romance SETTING:

Review: Crash (McMann)

AUTHOR: Lisa McMann SERIES: Visions, book 1 PUBLISHER: SimonPulse PUBLICATION DATE: January 8, 2013 ISBN: 9781442403918 PAGES: 233 SOURCE: purchased ebook GENRE: paranormal SETTING: present-day Chicago GIVE IT TO: MS,

Review: Hopeless (Hoover)

AUTHOR: Colleen Hoover SERIES: Hopeless, book 1 PUBLISHER: CreateSpace Independent Publishing PUBLICATION DATE: December 17, 2012 ISBN: 9781301949823 PAGES: 486 SOURCE: purchased ebook GENRE: contemporary romance SETTING: present-day Texas GIVE

Review: Ten (McNeil)

AUTHOR: Gretchen McNeil SERIES: none PUBLISHER: Balzer + Bray PUBLICATION DATE: September 18, 2012 ISBN: 9780062118783 PAGES: 296 SOURCE: purchased ebook GENRE: mystery, horror SETTING: island off the coast of

0
    0
    Your Cart
    Your cart is emptyReturn to Shop