Tuesday, June 4, 2013

2012-2013 Top 25 Most-Circulated Titles

Welcome to the yearly "Top 25"! This is the third year I've compiled this list, and it's funny how many books have been on the list all three years! If you want to see your library's Top 25 (and you have Destiny), the report is located under the Reports Tab--Library--Statistics section--Top/Bottom Titles. I would love to hear what is popular in other schools!

Before starting this list, I wanted to do a few honorable mentions. These are titles that came out during this school year and did not have as much time to make the list. Even though they are newer titles, our students couldn't wait to get their hands on them!

Honorable mention to:

The Darkest Minds (Alexandra Bracken)
I LOVED this book and it booktalks easily. It is best for strong readers who don't mind a healthy dose of violence, so I don't give it to everyone. Though it came out right at the end of the year, The Darkest Minds is my favorite book of 2012. Read review.
Strands of Bronze and Gold (Jane Nickerson)
Another violent title for mature readers that is easy to booktalk. All I have to do is tell the story of Bluebeard, which almost no one (including the teachers) at my school has ever heard of. Read review.
Splintered (A. G. Howard)
This Alice in Wonderland spin-off is engrossing, beautifully written, and oh-so-easy to booktalk. Read review.
The Immortal Rules (Julie Kagawa)
What is it with the violent books? This one is gory and bloody, but the students have really been requesting it for summer checkout. Read review.

And now for the top 25...

1. Unwind (Neal Shusterman)--143 circulations
On this list since I started it three years ago, Unwind finds itself in the top spot this year. It doesn't hurt that we have 23 copies and that its long-awaited sequel, Unwholly came out earlier this school year.
2. Blood Red Road (Moira Young)--140 circulations
One of my favorite titles of 2011, Blood Red Road was on the Lone Star Reading List this year, so that alone made it very popular. Add the fact that both me and my aide loved it, and you have an instant with my students. While some readers complained about the vernacular language it uses, many others loved the book and got used to the language once they got past the first few chapters. Read review.
3. The Hunger Games (Suzanne Collins)--131 circulations
The Hunger Games dropped to the third spot this year, down from first place last year. Two years ago, it was the second-most checked out title in our library.
4. Catching Fire (Suzanne Collins)--122 circulations
This Hunger Games sequel was almost never on the shelf this year. We had a constant hold-list all year long. Catching Fire and Mockingjay are also on this list for the third year in a row.
5. Mockingjay (Suzanne Collins)--113 circulations
What's next, Ms. Collins?
6. Tiger's Curse (Colleen Houck)--106 circulations
A major hit with my sixth grade girls! I have overheard some of them even debating the merits of Ren versus Kishan. Most students who read the first one ended up reading them all. Read review.
7. Rot & Ruin (Jonathan Maberry)--91 circulations
My aide went crazy for this series--she read them all! So I attribute this series' massive success to my aide's frequent recommendations to students. Read review.
8. The Maze Runner (James Dashner)--85 circulations
Another title on this list all three years. I expect this one to remain on the list (probably higher up) because the movie is due out in next February.
9. The Compound (S. A. Bodeen)--79 circulations
Also on the list three years in a row, this one is especially popular with boys who "don't like to read." It's one of my go-to recommendations for resistant reader boys.
10. Matched (Ally Condie)--76 circulations
Last year's #6 dropped a bit, but it remains popular with my seventh grade girls. It must be word of mouth because I don't recommend this one as much as other dystopian titles. Read review.
11. Shelter (Harlan Coben)--71 circulations
Another title whose success in my library can be attributed to my aide's love for this series. It's one of her favorite recommendations, and the students who read Shelter really, really love it. Read review.
12. Legend (Marie Lu)--67 circulations
This one would probably be higher on the list if I had procured more copies earlier in the year. We started with three copies and ended the year with eight. It's a Lone Star next year, so we're sure to see it again on next year's list. Read review.
13. Divergent (Veronica Roth)--65 circulations
Another title with enormous word-of-mouth popularity with my students. A seventh grade Literature teacher also recommended this one frequently to her students, which helped make it especially popular with 7th graders. Read review.
14. Playground (50 Cent)--63 circulations
I loved this book and recommended it most to eighth grade boys who don't like reading. Read review.
15. (tie) The Selection (Kiera Cass)--60 circulations
Great for fans of Condie's Matched or Rossi's Under the Never Sky. The Selection is one of my selections for our  school's Lone Star Plus list next year. Read review.
15. (tie) Skinny (Donna Cooner)--60 circulations
A popular choice with girls in all three grades, Skinny was one of my additions to the Lone Star Plus reading list this year. When I booktalk this with a class, I always ask if anyone knows someone who has had gastric bypass surgery. In nearly every class, several do. Read review.
17. (tie) Dust & Decay (Jonathan Maberry)--59 circulations
This sequel to zombie-fave Rot & Ruin stayed popular all year long.
17. (tie) Paranormalcy (Kiersten White)--59 circulations
An official Lone Star pick for this year, I chose it as one of my "plus" books last year.
19. (tie) Middle School: Get Me Out of Here! (James Patterson)--54 circulations
This series is a hit with the Wimpy Kid crowd.
19. (tie) Middle School: The Worst Years of My Life (James Patterson)--54 circulations
This one is easy to booktalk--all I say is that it's about a 6th grade boy who decides to break all the rules in the Student Code of Conduct.
21. Beastly (Alex Flinn)--50 circulations
A former #1 on this list, Beastly has been a hit since our school opened in 2009. We also have the movie available for checkout.

22. Delirium (Lauren Oliver)--49 circulations
I'm actually a little surprised Delirium made this list. I love the book, but I did little to promote it this year. Another huge word-of-mouth hit! Read review.
23. Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Cabin Fever (Jeff Kinney)--48 circulations
Jeff Kinney's hit series is located in our Humor section, which is immensely popular with our reluctant readers.
24. (tie) Firelight (Sophie Jordan)--47 circulations
Another easy-to-booktalk selection. You had me at "high school girl has a huge secret--she's a rare red dragon in love with the dragon hunter who saved her." Sold! Read review.
25. (tie) Tiger's Quest (Colleen Houck)--47 circulations
Ah, Kishan, you keep my girls coming back for more. Who is the father of the baby in Kelsey's dream? My 6th grade girls couldn't wait for Tiger's Destiny to find out! Read review.

Like this post? Check out the previous two years of Top 25 Circulations:

Last year's Top 25 (2011-2012)
2010-2011 Top 25

Like this blog? Get updates in your inbox whenever I post new content! Subscribe by clicking the green envelope below:


  1. Your patrons seem to be much more into YA than mine. Charlie Joe Jackson is big in my school, along with Mike Lupica and Rick Riordan. The requests for paranormal and dystopia died down really quickly, w
    too. Funny how different different libraries can be! (We're 6-8; maybe you're 7-8?)

    1. We are 6-8, but I think the circulation reflects what the librarian is "into" also. I have read but 2 of the 29 books listed. I talk about them lots.

      I think another factor is our current 7th graders. There are sooo many great readers in this group! I bet this year's 7th graders by themselves account for more than half of all our checkouts school-wide.

  2. I am in a senior high school library grades 10-12. Delirium was our #1 with 38 circulations and many of our Reading Olympics titles were included like Divergent, The Fault in Our Stars, The Scorpio Races, The Running Dream, A Long Way Gone, and Au Revoir Crazy European Chick. We have a large reluctant reader population so books in The Bluford series circulate often, thanks for your tip- this will go in our annual report.

    1. Bluford is endlessly popular at our school as well--great choices for reluctant readers. For my reluctant reader girls, Drama High and Kimani Tru series are also popular.

      I've never heard of Au Revoir Crazy European Chick--just looked it up on Goodreads--looks like fun!

  3. There are some AWESOME titles on this list!


Let's start a conversation! All commenting on Mrs. ReaderPants is moderated and CAPTCHA-free! Please submit your comment only once--it will appear shortly.